Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Hall of Fame

    NC State Establishes Athletics Hall of Fame (May 29, 2012)

    The purpose of the North Carolina State University Athletic Hall of Fame is to recognize student-athletes, teams, coaches, staff and special inductees who have made demonstrably outstanding and significant contributions to the athletic tradition and heritage of Wolfpack Athletics.

    Nominations shall be accepted from the general public and members of the Election Committee through a standard nomination form. Nominations submitted after the published deadline will be tabled until the following year. Nominees shall remain eligible for three years and, if not elected in that period of time, must be re-nominated for further consideration.

    A maximum of six (6) individuals shall be elected in a given year; except that, up to ten (10) members may be elected to each of the first three induction classes. The election of a team or unit (e.g. tennis doubles team, swimming relay team) shall count as one (1) against the maximum number of annual inductees. Consideration will be given to the number of male and female inductees and the number of inductees by sport in each, annual induction class.

    Student-Athlete Inductees
    Any student-athlete who has competed for NC State shall be eligible for consideration, provided that five years has passed since the completion of his or her eligibility. Graduation from NC State is not required for election. The following criteria should be considered as a guide in electing outstanding student-athletes (not listed in order of importance):

    1. Olympic medal winner or member of Olympic medal winning team
    2. Individual or team national champion
    3. Individual or team conference champion
    4. World record holder
    5. National record holder
    6. Conference record holder
    7. NC State record holder
    8. National team selection
    9. First Team All-America selection
    10. First Team All-Conference selection
    11. National or state hall of fame member
    12. National player or coach of the year honor
    13. Conference player of the year honor
    14. Letter winner in multiple sports
    15. Academic All-America and Academic All-ACC honors
    16. Distinguished post-University career in athletics, business or public service.

    Special Inductees
    Any individual, living or deceased, who has made unique and extraordinary contributions to the NC State University athletics program, shall be eligible for election as a Special Inductee. Special Inductees may include coaches and athletic staff members, distinguished alumni, friends of NC State Athletics, and other individuals who are not necessarily eligible as a Student-Athlete Inductee. Eligibility as a Student-Athlete Inductee shall not disqualify an individual for consideration as a Special Inductee. A maximum of one (1) nominee from this category may be elected in any year; except that, up to three (3) Special Inductees may be elected to the first three induction classes. There is no expectation to choose a Special Inductee every year.

    Induction Event
    Inductees shall be invited to the annual North Carolina State University Athletic Hall of Fame Induction event the night prior to an NC State football game each fall. Attendance is required for induction, with the obvious exception of posthumous inductees.

    Inductee Recognition
    Each inductee shall receive the following upon, or shortly after, their induction: a Hall of Fame medal, a commemorative plaque, a commemorative video, on-field recognition at a home football game, and permanent recognition in the Athletics Hall of Fame display at NC State University.

    NC State Athletics Hall of Fame Election Committee

    Name Committee Position Term Ends
    Michael Lipitz Athletic Director or designee (Chair) Permanent
    Roby Sawyers Faculty Athletics Representative Permanent
    Tom Cabaniss Wolfpack Club President Permanent
    Annabelle Myers Head of Athletics Communications Permanent
    David Horning At-Large (Vice Chair) December 2015
    Tim Peeler At-Large December 2015
    Frank Grainger At-Large December 2015
    Wendell Murphy At-Large December 2015
    Danny Peebles At-Large December 2017
    DeWayne Washington At-Large December 2017
    Jane Houchin At-Large December 2017
    Mark Stevenson At-Large December 2016
    Genia Beasley At-Large December 2016
    Jim Ritcher At-Large December 2016
    Chris Boyer Ex-Officio (non-voting) December 2016

    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop