Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Swimming & Diving Racks Up Awards at Annual Banquet
    RALEIGH, N.C. - The annual NC State year-end awards banquet took place this past Tuesday night at the McKimmon Center on campus and the Wolfpack Swimming & Diving program received a team-high eight awards. Highlighting the list of accolades was Kristin Davies winning the H.C. Kennett Award as the top female student-athlete at NC State for the year.

    Davies became the first national champion in the history of the Wolfpack women’s swimming and diving program with a 339.65 in the platform dive on Saturday, March 21 at the NCAA Championships in College Station, Texas. Her title is also the first national championship in diving at NC State on either the men's or women's side. She also was named All-ACC this season, as well as ACC Women's Diver of the Year.

    Mason McGee was tabbed as team MVP for the men's team, while Anna Linkenauger and Davies picked up the honor on the women's side. McGee had six top-three times on the roster this season and set new NC State records in both the 200 and 500 freestyle, as well as the 800 freestyle relay. Linkenauger set new school records this year in the 200 breaststroke and both 200 and 400 IMs. She was also a part of three new school record relays - the 800 freestyle, and both the 200 and 400 medleys.

    The women's swimming and diving team received the ImPack Competition Award, honoring its commitment to academics, athletics, community service and both career and personal development. This year the women's swimming and diving team spent countless hours as volunteers, mentors and peers for several community programs and outreach efforts.

    Going hand-in-hand with the ImPack honor, both Brianna Grover and Austin Hampton picked up the ACC Top Six For Service Award. The accolade recognizes both as top performers for the Wolfpack's community service efforts for their significant contributions to the community.

    Grover also took home the Kay Yow Award. One of NC State's most prestigious athletic awards, it is annually given to the female student-athlete that most exemplifies outstanding academic and athletic achievement, community service, and team spirit.

    In addition to all of the awards and accolades, the swimming and diving team’s leadership among the entire athletic department was underscored by banquet contributions from Sarah Merritt and Hampion. Merritt, captain of the women’s team, gave the banquet invocation, while Hampton, the diving captain, was selected to offer the student-athlete reflection speech.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop