Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Men's Swimming & Diving Named "Break Out Team of the Year"
    ACC Champion Ian Bishop
    ACC Champion Ian Bishop

    June 6, 2013

    RALEIGH, N.C. - After collecting its highest finish at the NCAA Championships since the 1978-79 season, the NC State men's swimming and diving team has been named the "Male Break Out Team of the Year" by College Swimming & Diving Honors.  

    The award is given annually to a team that exceeds expectations or vastly improves from the previous season.

    The Wolfpack finished 15th at the 2013 NCAA Championships with 74 points to record one of the highest finishes in program history. Eight swimmers claimed All-America honors, with five of the eight receiving the accolade in multiple events. 

    At the 2013 ACC Championships, State finished fifth with 481 points but emerged as the league's top team at the NCAA Championships, registering the highest finish among qualifying league schools. 

    The Pack also had two swimmers crowned ACC Champion as junior Ian Bishop won the 100 breaststroke and junior Barrett Miesfeld claimed the title in the 100 butterfly. Bishop and Miesfeld broke the school records in their respective events en route to claiming gold medals. The 400 freestyle relay team composed of Simonas Bilis, Jonathan Boffa, Matt Thomas and David Williams also teamed up to claim a gold medal at the ACC Championships. 

    During the season, the team was ranked in multiple College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) polls, peaking at 14th in the rankings. A total of 46 all-time school top 10 marks were set by swimmers, 14 of which were program records. 



    Head Coach Braden Holloway's efforts earned him the 2013 ACC Coach of the Year award. 

    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop