Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Ryan Hill Named ACC Men's Track Performer of the Year
    Ryan Hill
    Ryan Hill

    March 15, 2013

    GREENSBORO, N.C. - NC State senior distance runner Ryan Hill has been named the Atlantic Coast Conference's Men's Track Performer of the Year as announced Friday by the league office.

    The conference's postseason honorees were selected by a vote of the ACC's head track & field coaches.

    Hill placed second in the mile at the NCAA Championships with his second-best time of 3:55.25 in the mile run. The Hickory, N.C., native also finished 11th in the 3,000-meters with a time of 8:00.44. Hill's performances earned him his eighth and ninth All-America awards, which currently stand as the second most by a men's track runner in program history.

    At the ACC Championships, Hill clocked a 4:05.71 to take top honors in the mile. In one of his most memorable performances, Hill broke the NC State and ACC records with his 3:54.89 time in the Wanamaker Mile at the prestigious Millrose Games in New York. The mark broke Tony Waldrop's 3:55 clip which sat at the top of the charts for 39 years. Hill's time stands as the fourth fastest in history by a collegian, and the second fastest by an American runner at the college level.

    2013 ACC Indoor Track & Field Awards
    Men's Track Performer of the Year -
    Ryan Hill, NC State
    Men's Field Performer of the Year - Alexander Ziegler, Virginia Tech
    Women's Track Performer of the Year - Brianna Rollins, Clemson
    Women's Field Performer of the Year - Brittney Waller, Clemson
    Men's Freshman of the Year - Tevin Hester, Clemson
    Women's Freshman of the Year - Mimi Land, Clemson



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop