Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Pratt Maynard Named 1st-Team All-ACC
    Wolfpack catcher Pratt Maynard was named first-team All-ACC on Monday.
    Wolfpack catcher Pratt Maynard was named first-team All-ACC on Monday.

    May 23, 2011

    RALEIGH, N.C. -- NC State catcher Pratt Maynard was named first-team All-ACC today. The 32-man all-conference squad was determined by a vote of the league's 12 head coaches and was announced Monday by the league office.

    Maynard had a remarkably consistent 2011 campaign, batting .335 with 19 doubles, one triple, five home runs and 40 RBIs. Maynard began the season on a hot streak, going 7-for-13 with five RBIs in the season-opening series vs. Elon, and never letting his average dip below .330 the entire season.

    Heading into the ACC Baseball Championship, which begins Wednesday in Durham, Maynard has gone back-to-back games without a base hit just three times all season, and has never gone more than two games in a row without a hit. He had a team-best 12-game hitting streak from March 19 through April 5 and batted .386 (14-for-40) during the streak. He also has had hitting streaks of seven and six games (twice).

    Maynard leads NC State with 19 doubles, five home runs (tied) a .493 slugging percentage and 42 runs scored.

    Following is the 2011 All-ACC baseball team:

    C - John Hicks, Virginia
    C - Pratt Maynard, NC State
    1B - Richie Shaffer, Clemson
     2B - Devon Travis, Florida  State
    3B - Colin Moran, North Carolina
    3B - Steven Proscia, Virginia
    SS - Brad Miller, Clemson
    OF - James Ramsey, Florida  State
    OF - Kyle Wren, Georgia Tech
    OF - David Coleman, Virginia
    OF - Andrew Rash, Virginia Tech
    DH/UT - Mike McGee, Florida  State
    StP - Sean Gilmartin, Florida  State
    StP - Mark Pope, Georgia Tech
    StP - Danny Hultzen, Virginia
    RelP - Branden Kline, Virginia
    C - Rafael Lopez, Florida  State
    1B - Jake Davies, Georgia Tech
    2B - Tommy Coyle, North Carolina
    3B - Matt Skole, Georgia Tech
    SS - Levi Michael, North Carolina
    OF - Jeff Schaus, Clemson
    OF - Will Lamb, Clemson
    OF - Nathan Melendres, Miami
    OF - John Barr, Virginia
    DH/UT - Phil Pohl, Clemson
    StP - Jed Bradley, Georgia Tech
    StP - Buck Farmer, Georgia Tech
    StP - Patrick Johnson, North Carolina
    StP - Tyler Wilson, Virginia
    StP - Tim Cooney, Wake  Forest
    RelP - Daniel Bennett, Florida  State

    Player of the Year - Brad Miller, Clemson
    Pitcher of the Year - Danny Hultzen, Virginia
    Freshman of the Year - Colin Moran,   North Carolina
    Coach of the Year - Brian O'Connor, Virginia



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop