Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Diaz and Rodon Semifinalists for National Awards
    Chris Diaz
    Chris Diaz

    June 14, 2012

    LUBBOCK, Texas - NC State's Chris Diaz and Carlos Rodon are semifinalists for the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Brooks Wallace and Pitcher of the Year awards, respectively.

    The pair will await an announcement from Omaha on Friday at 11 a.m. which will trim the list from five semifinalists to three finalists.

    Diaz finished the year with 91 hits and a .346 average to earn his place among the top five shortstops in the nation. The junior joins Anthony Gomez of Vanderbilt, Alex Mejia of Arizona, Richie Rodriguez of Eastern Kentucky, and Zach Vincej of Pepperdine on the list.

    Rodon represents the only freshman to make the semifinals for the National Pitcher of the Year, competing with Mark Appel of Stanford, Kevin Gausman of LSU, Andrew Heaney of Oklahoma State, and Chris Stratton of Mississippi State.

    The winners of the Brooks Wallace Award and Pitcher of the Year Award will both be announced on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas as part of College Baseball's Night of Champions.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop