Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Lowe and Towe to tee it up for $400,000 scholarship purse
    Wolfpack head men's basketball coach Sidney Lowe will team up associate head coach Monte Towe to compete for $400,000 in scholarship money at the annual Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament April 27.  Lowe and Towe will compete against head coaches and celebrities from other ACC and SEC schools. 

    The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held at the beautiful Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. Over the past three years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided more than $1.3 million in scholarship and charity to its participating universities.

    Over the three-day event, several tournament rounds will be played. The complete field of former athletes and celebrities includes four Heisman Trophy winners, 10 members of the College Football Hall of Fame, 20 All-Americans, six Coach of the Year winners, four NFL Hall of Famers and players totaling 51 NFL All-Pro or Pro Bowl selections.  In all, 12 teams are scheduled to hit the links in the featured event, all vying for the $120,000 first-place scholarship prize.

    “From a golf standpoint, this might be the strongest field we’ve ever had in this tournament,” said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Bowl president and CEO. “Not only are they highly competitive on the football field, but they are ultra competitive when competing for this championship - especially with our largest scholarship purse yet on the line.”

    The current field of competitors for the featured event includes:

    Group One:
    South Carolina             Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe
    Clemson                      Dabo Swinney / Dwight Clark

    Group Two:
    Virginia Tech               Frank Beamer / Dell Curry
    Alabama                      Nick Saban / Steve Sloan

    Group Three:
    North Carolina             Butch Davis / Natrone Means
    N.C. State                    Sidney Lowe / Monte Towe

    Group Four:
    Ole Miss                      Houston Nutt / Wesley Walls
    Maryland                     Ralph Friedgen / Stan Gelbaugh

    Group Five:
    Wake Forest                 Jim Grobe / Billy Packer
    Vanderbilt                    Bobby Johnson / Will Perdue

    Group Six:
    Georgia Tech               Paul Johnson / Jon Barry
    Florida State                 Jimbo Fisher / Terrell Buckley



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop