Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Brown Named To Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Watch List
    Lorenzo Brown
    Lorenzo Brown

    Dec. 20, 2012

    Cousy Award Watch List Get Acrobat Reader

    RALEIGH, N.C. - NC State junior guard Lorenzo Brown was named to the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award watch list. The announcement was made today by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men's college basketball. More than 80 candidates have been nominated for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award.

    Brown is averaging 12.9 points per game and 5.9 assists per contest, which is third among ACC guards. He leads the conference in steals per game with 2.2 an outing. Brown scored a career-best 24 points in the Wolfpack's 88-79 victory over Stanford on Tuesday.

    "The Hall of Fame is proud to continue its mission with Mr. Cousy to celebrate and honor the top collegiate point guards in the country," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "This list represents a large range of college basketball's top student athletes from across the country. We are excited to recognize these players for their continuous hard work and dedication.

    "The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed on the basketball court and in life," said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). "Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and inspired so many people on and off the court. We hope that this coveted award continues to honor his legacy."

    This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 around Jan. 1, 2013, a final 10 near Feb. 1, and the final five by approximately March 1. A premier selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and hall of famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

    Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year's recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina).

    For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, visit onto



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop