Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Amerson, Glennon Appear on Watch Lists
    Mike Glennon
    Mike Glennon

    July 9, 2012

    Raleigh, N.C. -

    Bednarik Watch List | Maxwell Watch List

    The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch lists for the 76th annual Maxwell Award and the 18th annual Bednarik Award. NC State cornerback David Amerson represented the Wolfpack on the Bednarik Award List, while quarterback Mike Glennon’s name appeared on the Maxwell Award List.

    Last season, Amerson set the ACC and NC State single-season record for interceptions with 13 that mark ties for second in FBS history. He was named a Walter Camp and ESPN first-team All-American, was the winner of the Jack Tatum Award, and one of three finalists for the Thorpe Award.

    In his first season as the Pack’s starting quarterback last season, Glennon threw for 31 touchdowns on the season, that mark ties as the second-highest mark in school history. He ranked fourth in the ACC in passing yards per game, second in touchdown throws.

    The watch lists will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast.

    The Maxwell Award has been given to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937, and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

    The Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. A former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, Chuck Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

    Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 29, and the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 19. The winners of the 2011 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 6. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.



    The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2012 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

    The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website at

    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop