Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Doeren Selected as Finalist for Eddie Robinson Award
    Coach Dave Doeren was introduced as NC State's new head coach this weekend.
    Coach Dave Doeren was introduced as NC State's new head coach this weekend.

    Dec. 3, 2012

    Raleigh, N.C. -

    The Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Fiesta Bowl, has announced nine finalists for the 2012 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, whose winner will be revealed on Thursday, Dec. 13.

    In alphabetical order the finalists are: Gary Andersen (Utah State), Dave Doeren (Northern Illinois), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Will Muschamp (Florida), Bill O’Brien (Penn State), David Shaw (Stanford), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M).

    The finalists will be placed on a ballot which is being sent to the entire FWAA membership today. Ballots will be accepted from the membership through Dec. 8. FWAA members were asked to vote for their top choices in the order they believe the coaches are deserving of the award.

    The official presentation reception will be on Jan. 6, 2013, in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., where the winning coach will be given the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award during a reception at the media hotel.

    Dave Doeren, Northern Illinois (12-1): After a season-opening 18-17 loss to Iowa at Soldier Field in Chicago, the Huskies have won 12 straight games and earned the Mid-American Conference’s first Bowl Championship Series berth, a date with Florida State in the Discover Orange Bowl. The Hukies capped off the regular season with a 44-37 overtime victory over Kent State, another one-loss team at the time, in the MAC Championship game. The season catapulted Doren to accept the NC State job.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop