Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Choi Named to The Ben Hogan Award Watch List
    Albin Choi
    Albin Choi

    Jan. 30, 2013

    FORT WORTH, Texas - NC State junior All-American golfer Albin Choi has been named to the 2013 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List on Wednesday by Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, in conjunction with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

    Choi, from Toronto, Ontario, Canada, has landed on this list after playing outstanding golf for the better part of a calendar year. He finished 12th in the Golfstat Cup Standings for the fall season after winning two tournaments - the Tar Heel Intercollegiate to open the season in September, and the Warrior Wave Princeville Intercollegiate in November.

    Choi is also 18th in the most current World Amateur Golf Rankings. Earlier this month Choi sank a 12-foot par putt on the 18th hole to clinch the 2013 Copa de las Americas crown for Team Canada at TPC Blue Monster Course in Miami.

    In 2012, Choi made the cut at the PGA TOUR's Canadian Open, won the NCAA Ann Arbor Regional, tied for first in stroke play at North & South Men's Amateur and made the Round of 16 of match play at the U.S. Amateur.

    His 71.46 career scoring average and six tournament titles are second only to Matt Hill in NC State school history.

    The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee represents leaders in amateur and collegiate golf.

    The 2013 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List includes, in alphabetical order:
    Daniel Berger (Florida State, So.), Julien Brun (TCU, So.), Albin Choi (NC State, Jr.), Corey Conners (Kent State, Jr.), Scott Fernandez (Iowa State, So.), Steven Fox (Chattanooga, Sr.), Ben Geyer (St. Mary's, Sr.), Talor Gooch (Oklahoma State, Jr.), Brandon Hagy (California, Jr.), Max Homa (California, Sr.), Michael Kim (California, So.), Jace Long (Missouri, Sr.), Tyler McCumber (Florida, Sr.), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington, So.), Kevin Penner (UNLV, Sr.), Thomas Pieters (Illinois, Jr.), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, So.), Trevor Simsby (Washington, Jr.), Brandon Stone (Texas, Fr.), Julian Suri (Duke, Sr.), Ben Taylor (Nova Southeastern, Jr.), Justin Thomas (Alabama, So.), T.J. Vogel (Florida, Sr.), Michael Weaver (California, Jr.), Pontus Widegren (UCLA, Sr.), Chris Williams (Washington, Sr.) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama, Jr.).

    A list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the current list, will be unveiled on Thursday, April 18. On Wednesday, May 8, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The winner will be crowned at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club on Monday, May 20, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR's Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

    The award, which was first issued in 1990 and included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

    Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011) and Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012).

    To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit the official web site and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop