Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Choi Named a Semifinalist for The Ben Hogan Award
    Albin Choi with his trophy after winning in Hawaii back in November
    Albin Choi with his trophy after winning in Hawaii back in November

    April 19, 2013

    Ben Hogan Award  |  NC State Season Stats

    FORT WORTH, Texas
    Albin Choi of the NC State men's golf team is included among the 10 semifinalists for The Ben Hogan Award, the most prestigious award in men’s college golf.

    Choi, ranked eighth in the world according to the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR), has four victories this season, and has finished in the top-6 in 9-of-10 events in 2012-13.

    Currently No. 4 in the Golfstat Cup rankings, and ninth according to Golfweek, Choi is the only player from the Atlantic Coast Conference listed among the 10 semifinalists.

    The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all
    collegiate and amateur competitions during the 12-month period dating from the previous award’s banquet. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee is made up of 23 leaders and experts in amateur, college and professional golf.

    In the last year, Choi advanced to the round of 16 at the 2012 U.S. Amateur, finished tied for 73rd (low amateur) at the PGA TOUR's RBC Canadian Open, and was named Canada's top male amateur golfer for 2012.

    The Crowne Plaza® Hotels & Resorts brand, in conjunction with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America, announced the elite group of golfers.

    The 2013 The Ben Hogan Award semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are: Julien Brun (TCU, So.), Albin Choi (NC State, Jr.), Sean Dale (North Florida, Sr.), Michael Kim (California, So.), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington, So.), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, So.), Brandon Stone (Texas, Fr.), Justin Thomas (Alabama, So.), Chris Williams (Washington, Sr.) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama, Jr.).

    The group of 10 will be pared down to three finalists on Wednesday, May 8. The winner will then be crowned at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club on Monday, May 20, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

    To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.

    Choi and the Wolfpack will be in action this weekend at the Wolfpack Spring Open on Saturday and Sunday at Lonnie Poole Country Club in Raleigh, N.C. Tee times begin Saturday at 8:30 a.m., and Sunday at 8 a.m.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop