Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Hill Wins H.C. Kennett Award

    RALEIGH, N.C. – Men’s golfer Matt Hill won the male H.C. Kennett Award last night, awarded annually to NC State’s top student-athlete during the school year.

    The 2010 “Wolfie” Awards were presented on Wednesday evening at the first annual Department of Athletics gala.  Jeff Gravley, an NC State alumnus and sports anchor for WRAL-TV, was the master of ceremonies for the event, which was held at Reynolds Coliseum.

    The event opened with a welcome from NC State’s new Chancellor, Dr. Randy Woodson.  The most valuable performers from every sport were recognized by Lee Fowler and other athletic administrators, while various other awards were also presented.

    Here’s a breakdown of the different awards and their recipients:

    HC Kennett Awards – Matt Hill, men’s golf; Taylor Seamon, gymnastics. Recognizes NC State’s outstanding male and female student-athlete. Named in memory of H.C. Kennett, a 1924 graduate of NC State and president of the Wolfpack Club from 1948-62.  This is the university's highest athletic award, given annually to superior athletes who demonstrate the finest attributes of good sportsmanship and team play.

    The Extra Effort Award  - Eric Davis, Men’s Track and Field
    Recognizes a student-athlete who has overcome academic difficulties during his/her career at NC State by displaying a strong work ethic and a commitment to improvement.

    The Loyalty Award - Lauren Deuser, Gymnastics
    Recognizes a student-athlete who is not on scholarship and have made significant contributions to his/her team.

    The Helping Hand Award  - Leah Dunagan, Athletic Trainer
    Recognizes a non student-athlete (such as a manager, graduate assistant, athletic trainer, etc.) who has given his/her all to ensure the success of the team they are working with.

    Male Rookie of the Year  – Scott Wood, men’s basketball

    Female Rookie of the Year - Marissa Kastanek, women’s basketball

    Jim Manly Award – Katie Anderson
    Recognizes the top Student Athletic Trainer

    Todd Dunston Award for ImPACK Competition – Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field
    Named for former equipment manager who worked at NC State for 30 years.  The ImPACK Competition consists of six categories that teams can earn points in.  Those categories are Community Service, Athletes Supporting Athletes, SAAC Representation, Athletic Achievement, Grade Point Average and Above and Beyond.

    Top Six for Service Awards – ACC award that recognizes student-athletes who are active participants in their communities.
    Hanna Halteman, Women’s Basketball
    Brittany Strachan, Women’s Basketball
    Audie Cole, Football
    Allison Presnell, Softball
    Steven Bollinger, Men’s Cross Country/Track&Field
    Taryn Shelley, Women’s swimming

    Kay Brewer Support Staff Award – Heidi Humphrey, Weisiger Brown Equipment Room
    Named for beloved athletics receptionist who died in 2009

    The Kay Yow Award -  Lauren Deuser, Gymnastics
    Presented annually in honor of Coach Yow’s 25th year anniversary and the contributions she and her players have made to the women’s basketball program and NC State University.  It is awarded to a female student-athlete who exemplifies the characteristics of Coach Yow through outstanding academic achievement, community service and the true spirit of teamwork.

    Frank Weedon Award - David Horning, Senior Associate Athletics Director
    Named for former athletic administrator who has been a part of the Wolfpack family for 45 years.  This award was created to honor others who have spend a good part of their careers working for the Wolfpack.

    Comeback Player of the Year  - Toney Baker, football
    Awarded to a student-athlete that has sustained a serious injury, but has managed to overcome that injury and continue to be a productive member of their team

    Male Performance of the Year – Matt Hill, Men’s Golf

    Female Performance of the Year – Taylor Seaman, Gymnastics

    Play of the Year – Alan-Michael Cash, football (interception vs. UNC)

    Coach of the Year – Kellie Harper, women’s basketball

    Team of the Year – Men’s Cross Country
    Fall Sport MVPs
    Football – Willie Young
    Men’s Soccer – Chris Widman
    Women’s Soccer – Katie Ruiz
    Volleyball – Keri DeMar
    Men’s Cross Country – Ryan Hill
    Women’s Cross Country – Emily Pritt

    Winter Sports MVPs
    Men’s Basketball – Tracy Smith
    Women’s Basketball – Lucy Ellison
    Gymnastics – Taylor Seamon
    Rifle – Kat Seigert and Will Teller
    Men’s Swimming – Kevin Woodhull-Smith
    Women’s Swimming – Anna Linkenauger
    Diving – Hanna Hopkins
    Men’s Indoor Track & Field – A’Tolani Akinkuotu
    Women’s Indoor Track & Field – Lawanda Henry
    Wrestling – Bobby Ward

    Spring Sport MVPs
    Baseball – Jimmy Gilheeny
    Men’s Cheerleading – Alex Powell
    Women’s Cheerleading – Erika Armwood and Morgan Price
    Men’s Golf – Matt Hill
    Women’s Golf – Lauren Doughtie (2009)
    Softball – Mendy Mackenzie (2009)
    Men’s Tennis – Jaime Pulgar
    Women’s Tennis – Berkeley Brock
    Men’s Outdoor Track & Field – Jason Jones (2009)
    Women’s Outdoor Track & Field – Angelina Blackmon



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop 2014 NCAA MBB Tournament