Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    NC State Golf Teams Complete First Tournament of 2001-02 Season
    Wolfpack men place fourth at Mason Rudolph Championships
    Wolfpack men place fourth at Mason Rudolph Championships

    Sept. 18, 2001

    Franklin, TN - NC State's men's and women's golf teams both competed in the Mason Rudolph Collegiate Tournament hosted by Vanderbilt University on Sept. 17-18. The Wolfpack men finished fourth, after leading following the first two rounds. The women's squad placed 13th in the event.

    After firing opening rounds of 277 and 276 on Monday, the NC State men's team dropped to a 292 in the final round and fell into fourth place with a 54-hole total of five-over-par 845. Jason Moon, a junior from Australia, led the Wolfpack with a three-round total of two-under-par 208 to finish in a tie for fifth. It marks Moon's highest collegiate career finish.

    Garth Mulroy placed in a tie for 16th with a two-over 212 while Justin Walters and Fernando Machareffe each carded a five-over 215 to tie for 22nd. Rodney Thomas finished in a tie for 28th with a 216.

    Alabama won the men's title in the 12-team field with a one-under par 839. The Tide also won the overall title as its women's team placed fourth with a three-round total of 899. Mississippi State's Codie Mudd won the individual title in a playoff with Steve Marino of Virginia. Both golfers completed 54 holes at 10-under-par.

    In the women's competition, the Wolfpack shot a 314 in the final round of competition for a 54-hole score of 939 to land in 13th. Gwen Watson, a freshman from Greenville, N.C. led the Wolfpack with a three-round total of 232 (16-over-par) to finish in a tie for 37th. Sophomore Malin Claesson and freshman Erica Wein followed with 234 and 235 respectively. Rookie Leslie Stubblefield carded a 238 and Rebecca Randolph posted a 243.

    Ohio State's women's squad placed three golfers in the top five to claim the team title with a three-under-par 861. Host Vanderbilt was runner-up, 16 shots off the lead. Furman's Jennifer Perri claimed the individual medalist honors with a six-under 210.

    The Wolfpack women's next competition will be the ACC/SEC Shootout Sept. 28-30 at San Destin, Fla. The men's squad will travel to Georgia for The Farm Invitational on Oct. 5-7.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop