Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Watkins Named 2014 EAGL Gymnast of the Year
    2014 EAGL Gymnast of the Year Brittni Watkins
    2014 EAGL Gymnast of the Year Brittni Watkins

    March 22, 2014

    DURHAM, N.H. – Brittni Watkins of the NC State gymnastics team became the second Wolfpack gymnast to be named East Atlantic Gymnast of the Year (EAGL), as announced Friday evening by the conference.

    Watkins joins former NC State gymnast Christi Newton to be named EAGL Gymnast of the Year. A native of Albany, N.Y., Watkins led the league on vault with an RQS score of 9.890 and was also first on floor with an RQS score of 9.820. In addition, she was first in the all-around with an RQS score of 39.071. Nationally, she ranks 15th in the all-around. Throughout the regular season, Watkins was honored as EAGL Gymnast of the Week a record four times this season.

    Senior Stephanie Ouellette was also named Senior Gymnast of the Year, as she is coming off her top career performance last weekend against New Hampshire with a 39.525 in the all-around. Ouellette was the EAGL floor champion last season and a four-time EAGL First Team all-arounder. She is the third State gymnast to be named Senior Gymnast of the Year, as she joins Newton (1996) and Leigha Hancock (2008).

    Certificates were also handed out for the All-EAGL first and second teams Friday evening, as a total of five Wolfpackers were named to the all-conference teams.

    Watkins claimed first team All-EAGL on vault, bars, beam and floor, as well as the all-around. Ouellette also garnered first team all-conference honors on vault, bars and the all-around, while claiming second-team honors on beam and floor.

    Lane Jarred also claimed first team all-conference on the floor exercise and was named second team on the balance beam. Senior Hannah Fallanca was named second team All-EAGL on vault and beam, while Kristen Harabedian was second team on bars and floor.



    In addition, certificates were handed out for the All-EAGL Scholastic Team and the Pack had seven honorees, including Fallanca, Heidi Ffield, Harabedian, Ellen Marion, Jarred, Megan Kurdelmeier and Courtney Turner.

    In order to be honored as a Scholastic Team member, a gymnast must be an active member of the roster and must have maintained a cumulative GPAof 3.0 or above after the 2013 calendar year.

    The Pack will return to action on Saturday at the EAGL Championships. The meet, hosted by the University of New Hampshire, will begin at 2 p.m.

    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop