Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    NC State Has Three Earn Weaver-James-Corrigan Award

    Feb. 13, 2012

    Three NC State student-athletes have been named recipients of the ACC's postgraduate scholarship - the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award: Akash Gujarati (men's tennis), Jess Panza (gymnastics) and Tanya Cain (women's soccer). Cain was one of three league recipients of the Thacker Award.

    In the past 16 years, the Wolfpack leads the ACC in its number of postgraduate scholarship recipients.

    The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes - three from each league institution - who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

    In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, State baseball player Vance Williams will receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award, recognizing his outstanding academic and athletic performance although he intends to compete at the professional level.

    The 42 student-athletes will be honored on April 11, 2012, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro Hotel at the Four Seasons.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop