Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Cain Earns ACC Postgraduate Scholarship; Thacker Award
    Tanya Cain
    Tanya Cain

    Feb. 14, 2012

    RALEIGH, N.C. - NC State women's soccer player Tanya Cain has been awarded an ACC postgraduate scholarship - the Weaver-James Corrigan Award, announced by commissioner John Swofford.

    Additionally, Cain is one of three conference recipients of the Thacker Award.

    "What an amazing honor for Tanya to receive this prestigious scholarship from the ACC," said head women's soccer coach Steve Springthopre. "Tanya has excelled not only on the playing field but most importantly in the classroom.

    "Tanya has represented our team, NC State and the ACC to the highest degree as a Student-Athlete. I want to thank the ACC for recognizing Tanya's dedication to her education and providing her with this scholarship. Congratulations goes out to Tanya from the coaching staff and her teammates."

    The Pinebluff, N.C., native was a four-year letterwinner that never missed a game in her college career - making 62 career starts at forward.

    Cain, an accounting major at State, finished her career with 17 goals, nine assists and 43 points in 78 games. She scored seven game winners, and once scored three goals in a game as a sophomore that led to ACC Player of the Week honors.

    In the classroom, Cain has been named Academic All-Region three times by CoSIDA, to the NSCAA Scholar All-Region team and the ACC All-Academic Team on two occasions.

    The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes - three from each league institution - who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

    The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is awarded in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC's first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.

    The 42 student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 11, 2012, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro Hotel at the Four Seasons.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop