Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Weiman Named ACC Pitcher of Year; Davis First-Team All-ACC
    Sophomore Renada Davis
    Sophomore Renada Davis

    May 8, 2013

    NC State Game Notes Get Acrobat Reader

    RALEIGH, N.C. - NC State sophomore pitcher Emily Weiman has been named the 2013 ACC Pitcher of the Year and sophomore teammate Renada Davis joins her as a first-team All-ACC selection, the league announced on Wednesday.

    Senior outfielder Caitlin Dent and junior catcher Kirsty Grant were also named to the second-team All-ACC squad. The second-seeded Wolfpack (30-18-1 overall, 13-7 ACC) opens play against Virginia on Thursday at 1:30 p.m. at the ACC Championship in Tallahassee, Fla.

    “All of our players have done a great job this season of working hard and performing to their potential,” said first-year head coach Shawn Rychcik. “Emily worked so hard all summer to be ready for this season and we asked a lot of her.

    “It’s great to see that all of her individual efforts have paid off for her and for our team.”

    In addition to Weiman, Georgia Tech’s Ashley Thomas was named the ACC Player of the Year, Maryland’s Lindsey Schmeiser was named Freshman of the Year and Florida State’s Lonni Alameda was named ACC Coach of the Year.

    Weiman (28-16), the first Wolfpack pitcher to win the league award, leads the league and is fifth in the nation with 28 victories for the Wolfpack, including wins in her last nine decisions and 16 of her last 18 starts. Former Pack pitcher Abbie Sims was named ACC Player of the Year in 2007.

    Weiman leads the league in innings pitched (274.0) and appearances (47) and is second in earned run average (2.04) and third in strikeouts (244). She had seven complete games this season, including her first career no-hitter against Charlotte.

    Davis, last year’s ACC Freshman of the Year after setting school records for batting average and on-base percentage, led the league and is second in the nation with a school-record 24 home runs this season. She is first on the team with a .308 batting average and is tied with Dent for the team lead with 45 RBIs. Her season-long slugging percentage of .781 is also the best in school history.

    Davis has also played well defensively, cutting her error total from 20 as a freshman to just six as a sophomore. She went the first 21 games without a miscue.

    This is her second consecutive first-team All-ACC award.

    “Renada has been the catalyst for our offense all season long and has improved greatly as a shortstop,” Rychcik said. “As much as her power has meant to us at the top of the lineup, her defense has been just as impressive.”

    Dent, who has started every game this season in centerfield, is second on the team with 13 home runs this season and is tied with Davis with 45 RBIs.

    Grant has started 46 games this season at catcher and has six home runs and 20 RBIs. She is third on the team with a .307 batting average, just behind teammates Davis and Chelsea Tate at .308. Defensively, she has had only three passed balls all season and has caught 10 runners stealing.

    Follow the Wolfpack throughout the postseason on Twitter (@PackSoftball), by liking the official NC State Softball Facebook page and at

    2013 All-ACC Softball Awards
    Pitcher of the Year: Emily Weiman, NC State
    Player of the Year: Ashley Thomas, Georgia Tech
    Freshman of the Year: Lindsey Schmeiser, Maryland
    Coach of the Year: Lonni Alameda, Florida State

    First-Team All-ACC
    Courtney Senas, Florida State, Jr., 3B
    Lacey Waldrop, Florida State, So., P
    Monica Perry, Florida State, Sr., P
    Victoria East, Florida State, Fr., 1B
    Alysha Rudnik, Georgia Tech, Jr., 3B
    Ashley Thomas, Georgia Tech, Jr., SS
    Lindsey Schmeiser, Maryland, Fr., SS
    Emily Weiman, NC State, So., P
    Renada Davis, NC State, So., SS
    Kylie McGoldrick, Virginia Tech, So., 2B

    Second-team All-ACC
    Tory Speer, Boston College, Jr., C
    Morgan Bullock, Florida State, Sr., OF
    Hope Rush, Georgia Tech, Sr., P
    Caitlin Dent, NC State, Sr., OF
    Kirsty Grant, NC State, Jr., C
    Amber Parrish, North Carolina, So., C
    Constance Orr, North Carolina, Sr., 3B
    Kristen Brown, North Carolina, Fr., SS
    Lori Spingola, North Carolina, Jr., SP
    Courtney Liddle, Virginia Tech, Sr., C



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop