Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Two Women's Tennis Players Earn Anniversary Team Honors

    Sept. 3, 2002

    The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. The 52-member team was voted on by the nine league institutions as decided by the league's 50th Anniversary Committee.

    Duke led all league schools with 12 members on the Golden Anniversary team while Clemson, North Carolina, and Wake Forest were tied for second with nine honorees each. Georgia Tech had four players selected followed by Maryland (3), Florida State (2), NC State (2) and Virginia with two.

    Members of the team from NC State are:

    Kylie Hunt, NC State (1994-1995)

    Finished her first season with a 14-5 singles record and a doubles mark of11-5 ... Led the Wolfpack to one of its best seasons ever with an 11-8 record and 43rd spot in the ITA rankings ... Ended her freshman campaign ranked 35thin the nation by the ITA, the highest ever by an NC State player ... Finished her sophomore season with a 31-8 record that included a 21-match winning streak ... Received NCAA Tournament bids in both 1994 and 95 ... Tabbed a victory in the first round of NCAA tournament play in 1994 ... selected to the All-ACC team in 1994 and 95.

    Jenny Sel l, NC State (1989-1992)

    Registered a 16-4 record as a senior, earning All-ACC honors and the team MVP award ... Ranked 64th in the Volvo/ITCA rankings, becoming the first ever nationally ranked player hailing from NC State ... Finished the 1991 season with a 16-8 record, including a 10-3 mark in the No. 2 singles slot ... Earned All-ACC honors as a sophomore after compiling a record of 14-11 in No. 1 singles play ... Joined the NC State tennis staff as an assistant coach in 1994 after aiding the team as a student assistant in the 1992-93 season ... Succeeded Kelly Key as head coach in 1996 ... Led the Wolfpack for three seasons for a combined record of 32-37 (.464) ... third place finish in the ACC in her final season ... Currently coaches at UNC Wilmington.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop 2014 NCAA MBB Tournament