Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Hill Races Into 5,000m Final at World Track and Field Championships
    Ryan Hill on the final lap of Tuesday's 5,000m qualifier
    Ryan Hill on the final lap of Tuesday's 5,000m qualifier

    Aug 13, 2013

    MOSCOW - Representing Team USA, former Wolfpack track and cross country star Ryan Hill earned a spot in the men's 5,000-meter final Tuesday morning at Luzhniki Stadium, host of the 2013 IAAF Track and Field World Championships.

    Hill was one of three USA runners to reach the final round of 15 in the event. 

    A 10-time All-American at NC State, Hill took to the track in the first of two heats alongside fellow USA teammate and five-time Olympic gold medalist, Bernard Lagat.

    Hill went along with the lead pack on the fourth turn of the final lap to cross the finish line in fifth place with a time of 13:24.19 in what eventually turned out to be the final of 10 automatic qualifying bids. 

    The men's 5,000-meter final will take place Friday, August 16, and is scheduled for a 12:45 p.m. (EDT) start. The event will be streamed live by Universal Sports and can be viewed by subscribers only by clicking here.

    Men's 5,000m Qualifying Results
    Heat 1
    1. Hagos Gebrhiwet (Ethiopia)           13:23.22    Q
    2. Yenew Alamirew (Ethiopia)            13:23.48    Q
    3. Bernard Lagat (USA)                    13:23.59    Q
    4. Thomas Longosiwa (Kenya)            13:23.94   Q
    5. Ryan Hill (USA)                                  13:24.19   Q
    6. Elroy Gelant (Russia)                   13:25.07     q
    7. Brett Robinson (Australia)             13:25.38     q
    8. Sindre Buraas (Norway)                13:26.69     q
    9. Zane Robertson (New Zealand)       13:27.89     q
    10. John Kipkoech (Kenya)               13:31.21
    11. Phillip Kipyeko (Georgia)            13:34.26
    12. Arne Gabius (Germany)              13:34.26
    13. Aziz Lahbabi                            13:37.75
    14. Sergio Sanchez (Spain)              13:52.05
    15. Grevazio Mpani                        14:15.65 

    Heat 2
    1. Muktar Edris (Ethiopia)                13:20.82  Q
    2. Edwin Soi (Kenya)                     13:21.44  Q
    3. Isiah Koech (Kenya)                   13:22.19  Q
    4. Galen Rupp (USA)                      13:23.93  Q
    5. Mohamed Farah (Great Britain)     13:23.93  Q
    6. Dejene Regassa                         13:25.21  SBq
    7. Othmane El Goumri                   13:31.08
    8. Ben St. Lawrence (Australia)        13:33.64
    9. Alemayehu Bezabeh (Spain)         13:34.68
    10. Byron Piedra (Ecuador)              13:35.38
    11. Yuki Sato (Japan)                     13:37.07
    12. Diego Estrada (Mexico)              13:48.30
    13. Rinas Akhmadiyev (Russia)         13:58.38
    14. Jake Robertson (New Zealand)     14:09.50




    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop