Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Rodon Named USA Baseball Player of the Year

    Oct. 29, 2013

    Durham, N.C. - NC State's Carlos Rodon earned USA Baseball's Richard W. "Dick" Case Player of the Year Award, given annually to USA Baseball's top player while honoring the memory of the organization's founding executive director and CEO.

    "Carlos has been a leader on our team since setting foot on campus, and it doesn't surprise me that he's developed a similar role for Team USA," said NC State head coach Elliott Avent. "He's an impressive talent, better teammate, and certainly deserving of this award."

    Rodon led the Wolfpack to the College World Series as a sophomore in 2013, and returned for a second stint with the Collegiate National Team to compose a brilliant summer ending with the first Richard W. "Dick" Case Award in NC State baseball history.

    "Carlos Rodon's performance this summer speaks for itself," said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball's Executive Director/CEO. "It's fitting he joins a group of past recipients that includes Stephen Strasburg, Huston Street, and Ben Sheets."

    The staff ace of the Collegiate National Team that hosted, and swept, the Cuban National Team, Rodon went 3-0, not allowing a run in 17 innings on the mound. He struck out 21 batters while walking four, allowing five hits in four starts.

    The lefty saved his best performance for last, shutting out the powerful Cuban lineup for 6 2/3 innings while striking out 11 in a two-hit performance at Durham Bulls Athletic Park.

    In two years with Team USA, Rodon has gone 5-0 in nine outings, striking out 42 batters with a 0.75 ERA over 36 innings.

    Rodon will be honored on November 2 at Carter-Finley Stadium during NC State's football game against North Carolina.

    Richard W. "Dick" Case Award Winners
    2013: Carlos Rodon, Collegiate National Team
    2012: Reese McGuire, 18U National Team
    2011: Albert Almora, 18U National Team
    2010: Alex Bregman, 16U National Team
    2009: Justin Smoak, World Cup Team
    2008: Stephen Strasburg, Collegiate National and U.S. Olympic Teams
    2007: Jayson Nix, World Cup Team
    2006: J.P. Arencibia, Collegiate National Team
    2005: Ryan Shealy, Pre-Olympic Qualifying Team
    2004: Ryan Zimmerman, Collegiate National Team
    2003: Huston Street, Collegiate National Team



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop