Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Ted Brown Named to 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Class
    Ted Brown
    Ted Brown

    May 7, 2013

    New York, N.Y. -

    Former NC State running back Ted Brown was among 14 former players and coaches announced as the newest class of inductees into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. Tuesday’s announcement came during a press conference at the NASDAQ OMX MarketSite in the heart of Times Square.

    This past October, Brown was a member of NC State's inaugural hall of fame class.

    Brown will be inducted as part of a the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Class  at the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 10, 2013, at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. They will be honored guests at the National Hall of Fame Salute at the Allstate Sugar Bowl in New Orleans on January 2, 2014 and officially enshrined in the summer of 2014.

    Ted Brown
    North Carolina State
    Tailback, 1975-78

    One of the truly great runners of his era, Ted Brown dominated the Atlantic Coast Conference in the late 1970’s. He becomes the fifth member of the Wolfpack to enter the College Football Hall of Fame.

    Brown left Raleigh as the most accomplished rusher in ACC history, holding the league’s career records for rushing yards (4,602) and touchdowns (51) – marks which he still holds today. The 1978 consensus First-Team All-America led N.C. State to three bowl games, including victories in the 1977 Peach Bowl and 1978 Tangerine Bowl, in which he garnered MVP honors. He capped off his senior year by rushing for his third consecutive 1,000-yard season and amassing 27 career 100-yard games. He was the first player in league history to earn First-Team All-ACC distinction all four years and was named the conference’s Rookie of the Year in 1975. Brown played under legendary Hall of Fame Coach Lou Holtz and coach Bo Rein.

    The High Point, N.C., native was chosen in the first round of the 1979 NFL Draft by the Minnesota Vikings. He spent eight years in the professional ranks, all with the Vikings. He finished his career as the fifth-leading rusher in franchise history (4,546 yards and 53 TDs).

    He currently works as a juvenile probation officer in the Ramsey County (Minn.) court system and enjoys helping at-risk youth throughout the state. Brown was a 1995 inductee into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame, and his No. 23 jersey was the first football jersey retired at NC State.

    · Ted Brown – TB, North Carolina State (1975-78)
    · TEDY BRUSCHI – DE, Arizona (1992-95)
    · RON DAYNE – RB, Wisconsin (1996-99)
    · TOMMIE FRAZIER – QB, Nebraska (1992-95)
    · JERRY GRAY – DB, Texas (1981-84)
    · STEVE MEILINGER* – E, Kentucky (1951-53)
    · ORLANDO PACE – OT, Ohio State (1994-96)
    · ROD SHOATE (deceased) – LB, Oklahoma (1972-74)
    · PERCY SNOW – LB, Michigan State (1986-89)
    · VINNY TESTAVERDE – QB, Miami, Fla. (1982, 1984-86)
    · DON TRULL – QB, Baylor (1961-63)
    · DANNY WUERFFEL – QB, Florida (1993-96)
    * Selection from the FBS Veterans Committee

    · WAYNE HARDIN – 118-74-5 (61.2%); Navy (1959-64) and   Temple (1970-82)
    · BILL McCARTNEY – 93-55-5 (62.4%); Colorado (1982-94)

    1. First and foremost, a player must have received First Team All-America recognition by a selector organization that is recognized by the NCAA and utilized to comprise their consensus All-America teams.

    2. A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation’s honors courts ten years after his final year of intercollegiate football played.

    3. While each nominee’s football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post football record as a citizen is also weighed.  He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and fellow man.  Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether or not the candidate earned a college degree.

    4. Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years*.  For example, to be eligible for the 2013 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1963 or thereafter.   In addition, players who are playing professionally and coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.

    5. A coach becomes eligible three years after retirement or immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age.  Active coaches become eligible at 75 years of age.  He must have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage*.

    * Players that do not comply with the 50-year rule may still be eligible for consideration by the Football Bowl Subdivision and Divisional Honors Review Committees, which examine unique cases.



    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop