Skip to Content

NC State Wolfpack

NC State Wolfpack
Online Shop
    Mudge, Powell Garner All-ACC Accolades
    Junior Austin Powell was named second-team All-ACC Thursday along with junior Robbie Mudge
    Junior Austin Powell was named second-team All-ACC Thursday along with junior Robbie Mudge

    May 1, 2014

    RALEIGH, N.C. – Juniors Austin Powell and Robbie Mudge of the No. 26 NC State men’s tennis team were each selected as members of the second-team All-ACC, as announced Thursday afternoon by the conference office.

    Mudge and Powell have earned All-ACC accolades for the second straight season after garnering All-ACC honors as sophomores in the 2012-13 campaign. The men’s tennis program has now had  23 All-ACC selections and has had eight student-athletes named All-ACC multiple times in their careers. 

    A native of Muscle Shoals, Ala., Powell owns 23 victories including a team-best five victories against ranked opponents this season. In the fall, Powell advanced to the round of 16 at the ITA All-Americans, while defeating two top-25 opponents.

    Mudge, a native of Winston-Salem, N.C., recorded 23 victories this season in singles to go along with 32 wins in doubles. In doubles, he and Ian Dempster are currently second all-time in school history in wins by a doubles pair in a dual season with 19, including six over ranked foes.

    Individual honors, as well as the All-ACC teams were determined by a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches.

    The Pack received the No. 2 seed in the Athens Regional of the NCAA Team Championships. NC State will open play Saturday, May 10 at 10 a.m. against third-seeded Oregon with Georgia and Jacksonville State also competing in the regional.

    Individual Award Winners
    Player of the Year – Alex Domijan, Virginia
    Freshman of the Year – Brayden Schnur, North Carolina
    Coach of the Year – Sam Paul, North Carolina

    All-ACC First Team
    Mitchell Frank # Jr. Virginia
    Greg Andrews Sr. Notre Dame
    Alex Domijan % Sr. Virginia
    Brayden Schnur Fr. North Carolina
    Amerigo Contini @ So. Virginia Tech
    Jason Tahir Jr. Duke
    Ronnie Schneider Fr. North Carolina
    Romain Bogaerts* So. Wake Forest
    Hunter Harrington*@ Jr. Clemson
    Fred Saba*@ Sr. Duke



    All-ACC Second Team
    Dominique Maden Sr. Clemson
    Ryan Shane So. Virginia
    Austin Powell @ Jr. NC State

    Dominic Cotrone @ Jr. Florida State
    Brett Clark Fr. North Carolina
    Omar Aly Sr. Miami
    Andreas Bjerrehus @ So. Virginia Tech
    Nathan Rakitt Fr. Georgia Tech
    Robbie Mudge @ Jr. NC State

    All-ACC Third Team
    Quentin Monaghan So. Notre Dame
    Mac Styslinger @ So. Virginia
    Adam Lee @ Sr. Wake Forest
    Bruno Semenzato So. Duke
    Joao Monteiro So. Virginia Tech
    Raphael Hemmeler Jr. Duke
    Thai-Son Kwiatkowski Fr. Virginia
    Cristian Gonzalez Mendez Jr. Florida State
    Maksim Kan* Fr. Wake Forest
    Ryan Bandy* Sr. Notre Dame

    * - Denotes a tie in voting
    @ - Two-time selection
    # - Three-time selection
    % - Four-time selection

    Recent News

    Wolfpack Unlimited Live Tuffy Page Shop